Library Board

The Library Board oversees the operation of the Library.   The Library Board meets on the 2nd Tuesday each month at 12:00 p.m. in the library's Hope room.


Are you interested in serving on the Library Board?  Fill out the following application and return to the city office or the library:  Library Board Member Application  


Each board member serves a term of 4 years.

MembersTerm Expires
Alissa Kirchhoff, President
Morris Engle, Vice President
Kate Otter, Secretary2025
Allison Culbertson2026
Greg Saville, Treasurer
Kyle Still2026

Ordinances Governing the Library Board

12-501. Library Board.

There is hereby created a library board consisting of seven members to be appointed by the mayor with the approval of the governing body. The mayor shall be an ex-officio member of the board with the same powers as appointed members. Of the members first appointed, one shall hold office for a term of one year, two, for a term of two years; two, for terms of three years, and two for terms of four years. Thereafter, all persons shall be appointed to a four-year term. All terms shall expire on April 30.

(K.S.A. 12-1222; Code 1971, 10-101; Code 1999, 14-101)

12-502. Same; Meetings.

The board shall annually elect a chairman, secretary and a treasurer and such other officers as they may deem necessary. The board shall fix the date and place of its regular meetings. Special meetings may be called by the chairman upon written request of a majority of the members.

(K.S.A. 12-1224; Code 1971, 10-102; Code 1999, 14-102)

12-503. Same; Powers, Duties.

The library board shall be responsible for the general operation and maintenance of the city library and shall make and adopt rules and regulations for the administration thereof.

(K.S.A. 12-1225; Code 1971, 10-103; Code 1999, 14-103)

12-504. Same; Treasurer.

The treasurer shall give bond in an amount fixed by the library board and approved by the governing body of the city for the safekeeping and disbursement of all funds that may come into his hands as treasurer. Said bond shall be filed with the city clerk.

(Code 1971, 10-102; Code 1999, 14-104)